Welcome to NikonForums.com
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Vibration Control or Reduction

• Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

Steve M

Steve M

Loyal Member

• Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 238 posts
  • Country Flag
  • LocationSE Minnesota

Site Supporter

How many here think this is important?   Me being a new photographer I use it only because it is there and have never turned it off on my lens. 

I take a lot of train pictures and I would like to at least rent a wide angle lens to see how they turn out.   I was all set to rent a Nikon lens with VR but two people told me to get the Tokina 11-20mm f/2.8 instead.   They said it performs much better but it does not have VR where the Nikon does.   One person I talked to also claimed with wide angle the VR is not as critical. 

ScottinPollock

ScottinPollock

Forum Veteran

• Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 648 posts
  • Country Flag
  • LocationWest Slope Northern Sierra Nevada

I think optical in-lens (and in body) image stabilization is one of the most useful camera technologies introduced in the last couple of decades. It has opened a lot of new doors for hand held photography where before you wouldn't have got the shot without a tripod.

But it is not perfect for every scenario, not the least of which is moving subjects. While OIS (optical image stabilization) will allow you to get the shot with a slower shutter speed that previously might be blurred by camera movement, it offers no help for blurred picts caused by the movement of your subject.

You can read a bit more about when and when not to use it at: Turning Off OIS