Welcome to NikonForums.com
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

D3100 photos have weird sections at the top

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

Nick BN

Nick BN

• Forum Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Country Flag

Hello everyone,

So I am a beginner who was given a D3100 from a dear friend who had upgraded long ago, putting the D3100 into retirement until she gave it to me a few months ago.

After a couple of hours with it, I noticed that some photos were producing weird effects at the top of some photos. These effects look like the photos have different exposures in entire sections at the top of the photo and sometimes those areas are blurry or have doubles. When I look through the viewfinder or the LV, everything looks in order. Its the pictures that have the effect. At first, I thought it was due to my lack of experience, but I asked her and she told me otherwise. This happens on maybe 60% of the photos and I am not knowledgable enough yet to understand what could be causing this. I tested the stock 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 lens and my friends 35mm f/1.8 lens (which she has no problems with) and the effect was still there, leading us to conclude that the problem lies within the body. I've also noticed that this happens more often in brighter environments.

Some photos are much more dramatic than others, some have the blurriness/double, some don't. 

These are some prime examples of how bad it can be:

DSC_1223.JPG

DSC_1147.JPG

DSC_1096.JPG

Photos with blurriness/double effect in the brighter section:

DSC_0179.JPG

DSC_0202.JPG

DSC_1093.JPG

These photos are much less dramatic than the others:

DSC_0279.JPG