Welcome to NikonForums.com
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Looking for a versatile lens!

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

bbmaddie321

bbmaddie321

• Forum Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Country Flag
Hi!! I'm an amateur photographer looking for a new lens to replace the 18-55 mm kit lens. Something I would be able to shoot snow, stars (basic astro photography), and portraits. Is there a lens that's pretty affordable and able to do all these things? Thank you!

nbanjogal

nbanjogal

Nikonian

• Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,094 posts
  • Country Flag
  • LocationUT, USA

Site Supporter

Hi bbmaddie, and welcome to the forums. What kind of budget do you have and what camera are you using?

You can shoot snow with any lens, as long as you're exposing it correctly, so I won't really address that part your question. But regarding the portraits and basic astro photography...I think you'll probably want two separate lenses. I shoot both of those subjects regularly and use very different lenses for each one. The good news is that you can get fairly inexpensive lenses for both. 

For the basic astro photography, I'm assuming you want to do something like Milky Way photos or other starry sky photos (anything more than that requires more equipment). You'll need a fast lens (try for at least f/2.8), and most people who shoot the Milky Way use a fairly wide angle lens so you can get more of the sky in your photo. I use either 14 or 24 mm lens for nightscapes. I often use this inexpensive wide angle lens:

https://www.bhphotov...ngle_f_2_8.html