Welcome to NikonForums.com
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Nikon camera numbering

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

Fred588

Fred588

• Forum Member
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Country Flag

I'm not really a beginner as I started in photography when LBJ was in office but I must say I am entirely baffled by Nikon's numbering (naming?) system for their DSLR cameras. Is there a system or are they just random? For example, it is obvious that d700, d7100, d7200, and d7500 represent the sequence in which these were released, but its not at all clear if the numbers mean anything else. Also the d750 appears superior to the d7500 except in price and in having a lower number.

Adam

Adam

Nikon Forums Staff

• Administrators
  • 1,335 posts
  • Country Flag

The best way is to look at the number of digits.  After that, look at the first digit.

DX sensor:

D3xxx -> entry level

D5xxx -> mid range

Dxx -> mid range, retired

D7xxx -> high end

D3xx, D5xx -> pro

D1, D2 -> pro, retired

FX sensor:

D6xx -> "entry level"

D7xx -> mid range/high-end

D8xx -> pro (high res)

Dx -> pro (speed)

Merco_61

Merco_61

Nikonian

• Premium Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,588 posts
  • Country Flag
  • LocationUppsala, Sweden

Site Supporter

Adam's list is almost correct, except that the D700 was a pro body and the D750 is mid range/high end. The Dxx range needs to be split in two groups as well as the D50, D40 and D60 were entry level and the D70, D80 and D90 mid range/high end. The D100 and D200 were high end, bordering on pro bodies. The Df needs to go somewhere too, I feel it is high end.