Welcome to NikonForums.com
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Photos of art

new to dslr

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

Tim Fitz

Tim Fitz

• Forum Member
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
  • Country Flag
  • LocationNorth Carolina USA

Hi I'm new to the forums,new to Nikon and new to DSLR.

I am a landscape painter and want to take better photos of my paintings. In the past I have been using the point and shoot type of camera.

I just bought a Nikon D3300 (kit) to get started. can anyone point me in the right direction on a good lens for this application?

Your thoughts on this would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Tim Fitz

Merco_61

Merco_61

Nikonian

• Premium Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,587 posts
  • Country Flag
  • LocationUppsala, Sweden

Site Supporter

You will want a lens with low distortion and a flat field. Any of the MicroNikkors will work, but I think the 40 mm DX lens or the AF-S 60 mm will work best for your repro needs.

You will need a way to light your artwork evenly to get nice results. I would look into a set of LED video lights as it is much easier to set the lights up if you can see how the light falls rather than having to test shoot and reposition your speedlights.

Tim Fitz

Tim Fitz

• Forum Member
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
  • Country Flag

Is there a manual focus lens that will work in the D3300?

How about this on http://www.ebay.com/...4?ul_noapp=trueebay

Merco_61

Merco_61

Nikonian

• Premium Member
  • 10,587 posts
  • Country Flag

Site Supporter