Welcome to NikonForums.com
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

I am looking for a 70-200 F/2.8 lens for my d3300. Any idea what will work?

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

CheerDad

CheerDad

• Forum Member
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Country Flag

Hi

I am new to photography and bought a D3300 kit from a local big box store. IT is much better than what I had but I am shooting my daughter's Cheer Competition and am in low light with fast moving subjects. Many of the Cheer Photographers have said they use a 70-200mm F/2.8. I am looking at used Sigma and Tamron lenses but want to make sure they will work properly with my camera. Can anyone help clear this up? Thanks

Jerry_

Jerry_

Nikonian

• Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,524 posts
  • Country Flag
The basic answer is lIkely YES, they will work (provided obviously that they are the versions adapted for Nikon).

I have myself used the Tamron 70-200/2.8 AF Di VC USD on a D5100 and that worked fine.

The more nuanced answer is that there are different models of 70-200/2.8 lenses which may differ in quality.

Also, for the autofocus to work, the lens needs to have its own motor if used on a D3xxx or D5xxx. Most recent lenses for the above specs do have it - but to be a 100% sure about your choice, feel free to post the exact reference of the lensmodel before buying.

etphoto

etphoto

Loyal Member

• Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 229 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
They'll work. If possible, borrow a lens and use it for a bit before buying. Of course, if you know someone that has one.

Twitter: @PhotographyET

CheerDad

CheerDad

• Forum Member