Welcome to NikonForums.com
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Lens Auto Focus Compatibility

tamron a005nii

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

JFitness

JFitness

• Forum Member
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Country Flag

Hi All,

I'm new to SLR photography and to these forums so I apologies for any silly questions.

I've recently bought my first SLR camera - a Nikon D5300 - and i'm looking to buy a lens that has good zoom. I'll be using it mainly for motorsports.

I've come across the "Tamron SP 70-300mm F/4-5.6 Di VC USD Lens for Nikon (A005NII)" which looks ideal and has positive reviews.

My question is: will the autofocus work with my D5300? I read somewhere that the lenses need to be marked AF-S because my camera doesn't have the integrated auto focus. Bit confused because a friend of mine has the older Tamron 70-300 lens (A17NII) and the auto focus works fine on my D5300 - and that's not marked AF-S.

• Ron likes this

Ron

Ron

Nikonian

• Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,255 posts
  • Country Flag
  • LocationMagic City

I don't have the lens you're interested in but after reading a bit about it on Tamron's website I believe it will work with your camera.

The only time you need to be sure to purchase a lens marked AF-S is when you're buying a Nikon lens. AF-S is their nomenclature for Nikon lenses with built in focus motors. And, since your D5300 doesn't have it's own focus mechanism built in, you must use lenses with their own motors.

There are others here who have extensive experience with aftermarket lenses (including Tamron). Perhaps one of them will jump in and expand on this a bit.