Welcome to NikonForums.com
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Nikon Lens

nikon lens

• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

tutc

tutc

• Forum Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Country Flag

I currently have a Nikon d3300 camera, I would like a 300mm lens to photograph wildlife (birds). I currently have an 18-200 but it doesn't get close enough. I have read bad reviews on the 18-300mm, and the 70-300 reviews say it does not do well in low light. (I am a newbie at this) any suggestions would be much appreciated.

Merco_61

Merco_61

Nikonian

• Premium Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,589 posts
  • Country Flag
  • LocationUppsala, Sweden

Site Supporter

For birding, one of the 150-600 lenses from either Tamron or Sigma or the 200-500 from Nikon are the best relatively affordable options.

The old FX 70-300 works well in low light, but it *does* get soft at the tele end. I haven't tried the new AF-P DX lenses yet. They are all a bit on the short side for birds as well.

TBonz

TBonz

Sportz Guy

• Forum Member
  • 3,652 posts
  • Country Flag
  • LocationOn A Field Somewhere...

Site Supporter