Welcome to NikonForums.com
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Square filter systems and accessories

filters square lee cokin

• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

Ron

Ron

Nikonian

• Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,261 posts
  • Country Flag
  • LocationMagic City

I've been thinking of getting into a square filter system to take advantage of those nifty graduated neutral density filters but, honestly, I have very little experience with these systems. And that experience was way back when Cokin first came out. At the time they seemed a bit gimmicky and fragile. I was mostly underwhelmed. 

These days, well... I donno. I've looked at the Lee 4" x 4" filter system which seems pretty nice but also pretty costly. I'd really prefer to avoid making an expensive mistake if I can.

So, I thought I'd broach the topic here. What is the filter system that most of you use? I see that Lee has a couple(?) of different systems besides the 4" x 4" system. Any thoughts on those... and are there alternatives to the Lee system that are worth looking at. I don't have an unlimited amount of cash to spend but I don't absolutely need to go super cheap either.

I'll most likely be using these with wide angle lenses in the 18 to 24mm range although I'm not going to rule out using them with other optics as conditions warrant.

--Ron

ScottinPollock

ScottinPollock

Forum Veteran

• Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 648 posts
  • Country Flag
  • LocationWest Slope Northern Sierra Nevada