Welcome to NikonForums.com
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Filming welding from a safe distance

filming

• Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

CWIWelding

CWIWelding

• Forum Member
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
  • Country Flag

Greetings all, I am a welding Instructor based in Idaho and after thinking long and hard about it our department bought a Nikon D3300 for the purpose of filming welding tutorials.  We chose a lower end camera from the Nikon range thinking that if it worked well we could invest in something better in the long run.  But that aside, on with the question...

Welding and getting close to welding can be a pretty nasty environment, so with that in mind we would like to film in close, but from a distance.  By that i mean we would like to keep the camera out of harms way... say 6 feet away from the process, but be able to see a quarter filling the screen.  We would like to get close up shots of the weld puddle from a safe distance.  Now, we have seen all sorts of lens options online, and many have videos showing massive long range shots etc... but we havent seen one yet that shows the minimum focus length on some of the larger lens (by larger i mean longer, ie larger numbers ;).  We bought the 2 lens kit including the standard and 55-200 lenses and obviously they do not give the magnification required, i mean they could if i got in close but we dont really want to melt the camera lol 

So in a nutshell, what sort of a lens or lens combo would alow us to be 5-6' away but be able to focus in on a quarter full screen?