Welcome to NikonForums.com
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Newbie -- Hobbyist/Amateur but LOVE nature & have a "cause"

d40x nature zoom telephoto

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

Chamayne

Chamayne

• Forum Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Country Flag

Hello, all.  I am a 4th grade teacher/librarian.  I live on a small family farm and I love to take photos of nature each day as I walk my dog.  

I know virtually nothing about photography but I know what I like when I see it and am more than willing to learn.  The camera I have was given to me by a family friend (a "real" photographer, one that he had in his arsenal) when he realized I was posting photos on Facebook from my Samsung cell phone camera and a point-and-shoot Sony.  

Long story short...my cause is suicide prevention, in memory of my brother.  I created a Facebook page called Becoming Christian Messengers (my brother's initials were BCM).  I take pictures on the farm (our family home place), add text (scripture, uplifting quotes, encouraging sayings), and post them with suicide prevention hashtags.  

www.facebook.com/noemptychair

I want to be able to zoom in on songbirds, deer, hawks, ground squirrels, and so on....and also flowers, bees, dewdrops, etc.  I have only the lens that came with the camera and don't really even know what all of it means:  3.0x 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II AF-S DX Zoom-Nikor Lens.  Honestly, it's a foreign language to me at this point.  

So...I'd love any and all advice and will peruse this forum as time permits.  

Thanks ever so much! ~ Chamayne

Attached Thumbnails

• 10887646_275170875940226_3358526552263824983_o.jpg