Welcome to NikonForums.com
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

D300 Viewfinder Problem

d300 viewfinder problem

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

leyla

leyla

• Forum Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Country Flag

Hello folks!

Really glad I found a great forum based on Nikon cameras only. This community seems to help each other very well and I've tried to search for a thread about my problem, but unfortunately I couldn't find anything.

I'm a freelance photographer based in London, photographing babies and children indoors as well as outdoors. I've had my Nikon D300 for about a year now. It really is the best advanced camera I've had so far and I never faced any problems with it until now. 

About my problem: Since a few sessions, I realised I'm having a massive problem with my viewfinder. When I look through the viewfinder, it is completely dark - basically pitch black. It still lets me take pictures but they obviously turn out very blurry and awful since I cannot see what exactly I'm photographing and focussing on. When I take a picture, I see my subject through the viewfinder for about 0.5 seconds and it goes black again. This problem occurred for the first time about two weeks ago. It wasn't as bad though, it would be pitch black but after taking a couple photos, it would go back to normal and it was fine (hence I didn't think it's an actual issue and only temporary). But since a few sessions it pretty much became almost impossible to take good photos.