Welcome to NikonForums.com
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Looking for some advice/ criticism Part I

d3100

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

lokismind

lokismind

• Forum Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • LocationMelbourne, Australia

Hi, these are some shots I took of my partner for her portfolio/page. All were taken with a D3100 on Auto. 

I'm a novice, but wanting to get better and get OFF the auto setting.

Attached Thumbnails

• DSC_0098.JPG
  • DSC_0115.JPG
  • DSC_0120.JPG
  • DSC_0145.JPG

K-9

K-9

Jamie

• Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 883 posts
  • Country Flag
  • LocationNew England

Site Supporter

Watch your backgrounds and what is behind your subject. They can be distracting. The first shot is the neatest background of all your shots, but she is not looking at the camera and most of her face is obscured by her hair and pose.

nbanjogal

nbanjogal

Nikonian

• Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,094 posts
  • Country Flag
  • LocationUT, USA

Site Supporter

Since you were on auto, it looks like the flash fired, and on-camera flash is particularly unflattering for anyone. I'd try again during the day with perhaps some soft window light (not direct sunlight though).

The second shot could be nice if you were to redo it with a very wide aperture so that her eyes are in focus but the rest of her falls off into a softly blurred image. I'm guessing you probably have the kit lenses that came with the camera? If so, you may be limited in how wide you can go.