Welcome to NikonForums.com
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Nikkor Z 100-400mm or Nikkor Z 400mm?

nikkor z 100-400mm nikkor z 400mm

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

Potatoman

Potatoman

• Forum Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Country Flag

I have never used a prime lens before, and I'm not sure of the impact a prime has other than not being a telephoto lens. 
What would be the Pros and Cons of  a prime versus a telephoto lens? What are the specific limitations/advantages of one of these lenses over the other?

I will be capturing shots of birds, wildlife, distant landscape, etc., on my Z 7II.

Jerry_

Jerry_

Nikonian

• Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,529 posts
  • Country Flag
I don’t know the exact details of the two lenses that you mention, but will give some information on a general level:

- any of todays camera objectives/lenses, zoom or primary, is build with a set of glasses with different shapes, specifications and coatings in it, so the resulting picture is as good as possible, as these glases correct for a number of effects that the light is subject to while passing the lens.

- a zoom lens needs to move this set of glasses inside the lenstube, to allow for changing the focal length (=zooming)

- while a primary lens will, by design, be optimised for a specific focal length, a zoom lens needs to work at both ends of the focal lengths - this requires some compromises to be done in its design.

- the aperture is not a defined size of opening, but it is a ratio of the opening related to the focal length. Therefore on zoom lens you will very often find a variable max aperture.