Welcome to NikonForums.com
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Lens Recommendations

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

Johnny'sN80

Johnny'sN80

• Forum Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Country Flag

Site Supporter

Hello Everyone

I currently use a Nikon D80 and I would like to get a long length lens for it.

I normally shoot landscapes, cars, architecture and fireworks.

I'm a decent photographer for a hobbyist, and I think a long length lens would add to my portfolio.

I would like a lens in the 100mm - 400mm range

What lenses should I consider?

Thanks,

Johnny

g4aaw pete

g4aaw pete

Nikonian

• Premium Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,756 posts
  • Country Flag
  • LocationBirchington, North Kent Coast.

Site Supporter

Hello Everyone

I currently use a Nikon D80 and I would like to get a long length lens for it.

I normally shoot landscapes, cars, architecture and fireworks.

I'm a decent photographer for a hobbyist, and I think a long length lens would add to my portfolio.

I would like a lens in the 100mm - 400mm range

What lenses should I consider?

Thanks,

Johnny

What's your budget Johnny?

Johnny'sN80

Johnny'sN80

• Forum Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Country Flag

Site Supporter

Hi Pete

Is $500.00 too low?

I know they can be expensive

Merco_61

Merco_61

Nikonian

• Premium Member
  • 10,589 posts
  • Country Flag
  • LocationUppsala, Sweden

Site Supporter

The one I would recommend is usually about twice your budget in good condition, but it is a very nice pro grade tele zoom. I'm talking about the AF-S NIKKOR 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6 G ED VR.