Welcome to NikonForums.com
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

lens repair drama with Nikon, advice needed

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

babielovah

babielovah

• Forum Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Country Flag

Hello,

I sent my AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR to Nikon for repair because when it was pointed down, the lens will creep down on its own. I included a video here. However, after Nikon repaired it, the same problem persist. So I contacted Nikon, they told me this is normal for this lens. I'm no expert, but I'm little confused. I'm just not supposed to shoot photos point down then? Can anyone confirm if what they said is true, or is this a defect?

I also asked them then what did do for the $300+ repair fee I paid since this is consider normal. They gave me a list of stuff. I have no idea what most these things are. Can someone tell me if these things they did is worth my $300+ fees?

RPL HELICOID

RPR ZOOMING MECHANISM
ADJ AUTO FOCUS OPERATION
CKD LENS MOUNT
CKD RESOLUTION
CKD INFINITY FOCUS
CKD FOCUSING MECHANISM
GENERAL CHECK & CLEAN

g4aaw pete

g4aaw pete

Nikonian

• Premium Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,810 posts
  • Country Flag
  • LocationBirchington, North Kent Coast.

Site Supporter

Hello

certainly, on my AF-s DX 18-300 VR, lens creep is  a real nuisance. I've had two of them, they both did it.

My AF-s 28-300 VR G ED does not creep.

krag96

krag96

Nikonian

• Forum Member
  • 1,319 posts
  • Country Flag

Site Supporter

I'm not a lens or camera repair person, but as a retired gunsmith from what I see they did, the bill is probably fair.