Welcome to NikonForums.com
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Focusing issues

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

oldguy68!

oldguy68!

• Forum Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Country Flag

Hello everyone. I have been shooting Nikon for quite a few years now. I have been doing so with a D700, and my go to lens for most of my work has been the SIGMA 70-200 MACRO HSMII EX. It has performed flawlessly on my D700 for over three years now. I just purchased a D810 with only 95 shutter clicks and the latest firmware update. My problem is it will not auto focus on the 810 body. I have everything set properly, and it is hit or miss. It will work for about 4-5 shots then i can't even get a focus point to light up in the view finder. My native Nikon lenses do not have that issue. Just wondering if anyone else has run into this problem. I really don't want to lay out another $1000 plus for another lens, and as much as I like Sigma's lenses, I definitely don't want to purchase another one just to find it having the same issues. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance. 

Merco_61

Merco_61

Nikonian

• Premium Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,634 posts
  • Country Flag
  • LocationUppsala, Sweden

Site Supporter

I think your lens is from before the dock? If that is the case, Sigma might have a solution by changing the chip in the lens. A quick google indicates that the old Sigmas aren’t compatible with D810 firmware later than 1.12. 

oldguy68!

oldguy68!

• Forum Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Country Flag