Welcome to NikonForums.com
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Upgrading to DX (D90 to D610)

fx dx d610 d90 d7100

• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

Kenta120

Kenta120

• Forum Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Country Flag

Recently my loved D90 was stolen , which of course is a big shock for me.

Now I am thinking to buy to the full frame D610 (or D600).

But this is a huge investment and I am not sure if I should instead go with the D7100.

I am only a hobby photographer, but I really enjoy landscape, travel and HDR photography.

Occasionally I also like to do portrait, but thats not really my favorite part.

I currently have no lenses, since my only lens was stolen with the camera.

Can you give me some pro and cons for going DX or staying FX.

(Accept the obvious Pricing and picture quality of course.)

Would be a great for my buying decision.

iNYONi

iNYONi

Rob

• Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,112 posts
  • Country Flag
  • LocationLivingston, Scotland

Site Supporter

Well, this seems to be a favorite topic on this Forum at the moment. I can only answer from my own experience having just moved up from a d3100 to a d7100.

The price difference will always factor in this as the money you save going for the D7100 will allow you to purchase 1 or 2 decent lenses.

Image Sensor size is larger on the D600 & D610. Giving a larger image size, similar to that on old Film cameras.

If you are able to compair the 2 cameras in a retail shop then it might be an idea to go and have a play and see what one you like best.