Welcome to NikonForums.com
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Help! Beginner struggling with stock photography issue

studio lighting amateur stock clothing

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

richronniecross@gmail.

richronniecross@gmail.

• Forum Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Country Flag

Hi everyone, 

Firstly, although I have had a keen interest in photography for many many years, I by no means consider myself a 'photographer' nor do I pretend to be. It's a hobby. 

My day job is in the field of Special Needs education. I am currently working on a project developing teaching resources. 

I am taking photographs of clothing. Basically Stock Photography. I don't know the vocabulary to explain my issue correctly, however I will try:

The collar of the cardigan (in the attached picture) is not crisp against the white background. It is very soft, akin to aperture 'drop off' (made up term). Also there is some strange discolouration in this area also, like a 'halo effect'.

The bottom of the cardigan is fine. 

Does anyone know what this is, and more importantly how to avoid it?

The photo needs to be very simple and basic, non-stylised.

My settings are: 50, 7.1, 200 - D800 - Tripod. I have also attached a photo of how my lights are set up. There is also ambient light in the room.

The only editing I have done on the photo is straightening it, and using the heal tool to remove some hairs and dust.

If any one can help I would be very grateful

Best

Rich

Attached Thumbnails

• CARDIGAN PS EDIT.jpg
  • IMG_0835.JPG

Nikon Shooter

Nikon Shooter

Nikonian

• Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,041 posts