Welcome to NikonForums.com
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Help Identifying This Lens

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

npn

npn

• Forum Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Country Flag

Hi, a newbie here.  I'm looking to get my daughter started with core photography i.e. film, manual lenses and then digital so I found this camera on craigslist.  The camera is Nikon N90, but the lens look older and not original... if that camera came with lens. 

I'd appreciate it if you can identify the lens for me:

fcd2ab1b1283438bb1c36db8d0fcbeb2.jpg

TIA

Nikki

Fletch

Fletch

Forum Veteran

• Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 404 posts
  • Country Flag
  • LocationHawaii

Can't really read the lens information the way you have it there, but its a Tamron Brand and no that does not come stock. Stock lens would be a Nikon Lens.

Merco_61

Merco_61

Nikonian

• Premium Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,589 posts
  • Country Flag
  • LocationUppsala, Sweden

Site Supporter

The kit lens for the N(F)90s(X) was usually either the 28-85, 35-105 or the 35-135, all f/3.5-4.5. Some shops sold them bundled with the 35-70/2.8 as well.

A two-lens kit would make using an AF film body much more enjoyable. Film-era superzooms were not stellar, with the exception of the Canon 35-350 and 28-300 L lenses that cost as much as a used car...

An F80 or F85 would be a better start if the goal is a modern DSLR as they can control both shutter and aperture from the body, just like modern bodies. The aperture ring we oldtimers take for granted won't help in the learning process for someone learning from scratch today.

TBonz