Welcome to NikonForums.com
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

New Macro Lens?

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

SanderJas

SanderJas

• Forum Member
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Country Flag

I’m new to Nikon Forums.  I have a Nikon D800E camera.  I’m kind of  self taught myself what I know about photography, but I have less than 100% of the goods it takes to be one, but I try and get on and I love finding images or compositions, even though they don’t always add up like that in a photo.  But I do get some pictures I like.  The last few years I’ve tried macro of wild flowers and insects.  I have a Sigma 105 AF macro.  It’s a great lens.  I also bought extension tubes for digital Nikon auto focus: 12mm,20mm,36mm.  I have sometimes used these with bugs.  Seems like less depth.  I have taken many macro pictures and it is hard, but I’ve gotten some pictures and learned more by this experience.  Although does everyone or anyone know what to set the exact aperture for a picture when they see it?  Do the pros know this?   I do in some instances, but not much of the time.  I would know more the area to set, not always the exact aperture.  I sometimes bracket.  Or depth of field preview.  And especially for macro.  And there is not much time to do this for bugs. But I’m getting off the track.  Could anyone weigh the pros and cons of my 105 macro against adding tubes or teleconverter (strength?) or a new 200 telephoto macro lens (probably Nikon)?  I think with the new lens you could stand farther back from insects to get macros, but is that all?  There would be less depth and would my 105 still resolve with better crispness th